3rd Generation July 2009 January 2018

T-ara (/tiˈɑːrə/; Korean: 티아라) is a South Korean girl group, formed in 2009 by MBK Entertainment. T-ara’s career is marked by hook-heavy dance-pop music, a result of their close partnership with composer Shinsadong Tiger. A broad array of visual concepts have earned the group a “chameleon-like” reputation.

The group officially debuted in July 2009 with the single “Lie”, following line-up changes due to creative differences. Their debut studio album Absolute First Album was released in December 2009 and spawned several hit songs including “TTL (Time to Love)”, “Bo Peep Bo Peep”, and “You Drive Me Crazy”.

T-ara gained nationwide recognition after releasing “Roly-Poly” in 2011, which went on to become the Gaon chart’s best-selling single of the year. At the height of K-pop’s popularity in Japan, T-ara signed onto management agency J-Rock for $4.7 million—reportedly the highest figure of any Korean girl group expanding into the territory at the time. Both their debut Japanese single and studio album reached number one on the Oricon weekly charts and were subsequently certified Gold. T-ara’s late-2011 Korean release Black Eyes spawned three consecutive number ones: “Cry Cry”, “We Were in Love” and “Lovey-Dovey”.

In 2012, T-ara experienced a dip in popularity as the group faced accusations of internal discord, resulting in Hwayoung’s immediate departure with Areum following a year after. T-ara’s later material was released to varying degrees of success before the group began focusing on promotional activities in China, where they attracted attention for their cover of Chopstick Brothers’ “Little Apple” in 2014. T-ara is regarded as one of the most popular K-pop girl groups in China.

T-ara’s final release as six members was tentatively scheduled for May 2017, ahead of Soyeon and Boram’s expiring contracts; however, conflicts with their management delayed What’s My Name? until June 2017, effectively without their involvement. Qri, Eunjung, Hyomin and Jiyeon had previously extended their terms with MBK Entertainment until December 2017.

T-ara’s future is unknown after member Hyomin revealed on Instagram in January 2018 that the final four members of the group have left their former entertainment company MBK. The members stated several times that T-ara has not been disbanded and that they look forward to see activities as a group in 2019.

OriginSeoul, South Korea
GenresK-pop, dance-pop,nu-disco, electropop
Years active2009–present (Hiatus since 2018)
Labelscurrently none, MBK Entertainment (formerly known as Core Contents Media), EMI Music Japan
Associated actsT-ara N4, QBS

Qri (2009-present)
Eunjung (2009-present)
Hyomin (2009-present)
Jiyeon (2009-present)

Past Members

Jiae (Pre-debut 2012)
Jiwon (Pre-debut 2012)
Hwayoung (2010-2012)
Areum (2012-2013)
Boram (2009-2017)
Soyeon (2009-2017)

Member History


Lee Ji-hyeon

Kyuri (큐리)
Lee Ji-hyeon (이지현)
Leader Vocalist
★ December 12, 1986 ([showcurrentage day=”12″ month=”12″ year=”1986″] years)

Ham Eun-jeong

Eunjeong (은정)
Ham Eun-jeong (함은정)
Main Vocalist Lead Rapper
★ December 12, 1988 ([showcurrentage day=”12″
month=”12″ year=”1988″] years)

Park Sunyoung

Hyomin (효민)
Park Seon-yeong (박선영)
Main Rapper Main Vocalist Lead Dancer
★ May 30, 1989 ([showcurrentage day=”30″ month=”5″ year=”1989″] years)
Singer Dancer Actress Song-writer

Park Jiyeon

Jiyeon (지연)
Park Ji-yeon (박지연)
Main Dancer Lead Vocalist
Visual Face Maknae
★ June 7, 1993 ([showcurrentage day=”7″ month=”6″ year=”1993″] years)

Former Members

Jeon Boram

Boram (보람)
Jeon Bo-ram (전보람)
Vocalist Rapper
★ March 22, 1986 ([showcurrentage day=”22″ month=”3″ year=”1986″] years)

Her contract ended in May 2017.

Park Soyeon

Soyeon (소연)
Park So-yeon (박소연)
born: Park In-jung (박소연)
Main Vocalist
★ October 5, 1987 ([showcurrentage day=”5″ month=”10″ year=”1987″] years)

Her contract ended May 2017.

Kim Dani

Dani (다니)
Kim Dani (김다니)
★ December 23, 1999 ([showcurrentage day=”23″ month=”12″ year=”1999″] years)
Los Angeles
She was announced May 30, 2012 but didn’t debut with T-ara.

Lee Jiae

Hana (하나)
Lee Ji-ae (이지에)
★ August 6, 1987 ([showcurrentage day=”6″ month=”8″ year=”1987″] years)
She left pre-debut in 2009. She is a member of JEVICE.

Yang Jiwon

Jiwon (지원)
Yang Ji-won (양지원)
★ April 5, 1988 ([showcurrentage day=”5″ month=”4″ year=”1988″] years)

She was supposed to debut with “Five Girls”, but they disbanded pre-debut.
She left T-ara pre-debut in 2009.
She was a member of Spica (2012-2017).

Ryu HwayHwayeong

Hwayoung (화영)
Ryu Hwa-yeong (류화영)
Main Rapper Vocalist
★ April 22, 1993 ([showcurrentage day=”22″ month=”4″ year=”1993″] years)

She was added to T-Ara in 2010.
She left T-ara on July 30, 2012.

Han Areum

Areum (아름)
Han Areum (한아름)
Main Vocalist Rapper
★ April 19, 1994 ([showcurrentage day=”19″ month=”4″ year=”1994″] years)
Seoul (?)

She was added to T-ara on July 7th 2012.
She left T-Ara in 2013.